Review of Food Labelling Law and Policy

Independent Expert Panel - Membership

This page provides information about the members of the Food Labelling Law and Policy Review Committee

Printable version of Independent Expert Panel - Membership (PDF 85 KB)

Dr Neal Blewett AC

After a distinguished academic career, including a period as Professor of Political Theory and Institutions at Flinders University, Neal Blewett entered Federal Parliament in 1977 as the Member for Bonython. In 1983 he became Minister for Health in the Hawke government and over the next seven years was the political architect of Medicare, was responsible for the development of Australia’s AIDS policies, introduced the first national drugs campaign and worked for a greater emphasis in national health policies on the prevention of diseases. He served later as Minister for Trade and Overseas Development and as Minister for Social Security. Retiring from Parliament in 1994, he became Australian High Commissioner to London in that year, as well as serving between 1995 and 1998 on the Executive Board of the World Health Organization. In recognition of his services to Australian society, he was made a Companion of the Order of Australia in 1995.
(Conflict of Interest declaration (PDF 583 KB))

Dr Chris Reynolds

Dr Chris Reynolds is a lawyer, with postgraduate qualifications in public health and a PhD from the Department of Community Medicine at Adelaide University. He has taught Constitutional Law, Environmental Law, and Law and Medicine at Flinders University School of Law and the University of South Australia. His main areas of research and consulting have been in public health law and policy, and he has advised the Australian Government and state governments on reforms to public health, food legislation, drug and tobacco laws and also in policy relating to HIV/AIDS. Between 2002 and 2005 he was a Director of Research at the National Centre for Public Health Law at Melbourne’s Latrobe University and was a Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) Fellow until 2004.
(Conflict of Interest declaration (JPG 594 KB))

Dr Simone Pettigrew

Dr Simone Pettigrew holds a Bachelor of Economics from the University of Sydney, a Master of Commerce from the University of New South Wales, and a PhD in Consumer Research from the University of Western Australia (UWA). She is currently affiliated with the UWA Business School. Her primary research focus is health promotion, specifically in relation to obesity, food marketing, alcohol consumption, ageing, and mental health. She is the editor of the Journal of Research for Consumers.
(Conflict of Interest declaration (PDF 18 KB))

Dr Heather Yeatman

Dr Heather Yeatman has 30 years experience working in areas relating to health, nutrition, the food system and public engagement in policy. After 10 years in the Health Department in South Australia, she joined the University of Wollongong, where she was instrumental in establishing the dietetics program and a new graduate program in public health nutrition. Dr Yeatman was involved in the Australian Food and Nutrition Policy (1992) and has acted as a scientific expert to government and non-government agencies. She has also served as a member on the FSANZ Board. Through these experiences she has developed unique expertise in food and nutrition policy across the spectrum of local, state, national and international levels.
(Conflict of Interest declaration (PDF 328 KB))

Mr Nick Goddard

Mr Nick Goddard is a communications and marketing professional with over 25 years experience in the food industry. He has solid track record in bringing new and innovative food products to market, and in doing so has developed a good understanding of the challenges and opportunities the existing food labelling laws present to both businesses and consumers. Mr. Goddard has a Bachelor of Commerce and an MBA, and brings a pragmatic business and solutions oriented approach to the Panel. He is currently Executive Director of an agri-food industry association.
(Conflict of Interest declaration (PDF 190 KB))

Page last updated: 28 January, 2011